The Advisory Council consists of a parent representative from each of the district's schools, special education staff, Board of Education members, building administration and District Office special education leadership. The Council includes approximately 50 people and is responsible for communication and advocacy. There are also four subcommittees chaired by council members: Mini Conference, Resource Fair, Parent Support Groups and Ability Awareness.


The Blue Valley Special Needs Resource Fair took place at the Hilltop Conference Center on Tuesday, February 26, 2019 from 5:00 - 8:00 p.m.  Click here to see a list of this year's vendors. Find out more!


The agenda is developed by the chairperson of the council and district administration. Anyone can contact a council member with suggestions for agenda items. The regularly scheduled meetings will focus on items which have district-wide implications. The council does not discuss issues pertinent to an individual student. Those issues should be resolved through building administrators or IEP team meetings.


Lunch Gathering

When:       Friday, August 24, 2018

Time:        11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Where:      Pizza Shoppe (Stanley) 

                  7908 151st St. (behind McDonald's)

                  Overland Park, KS 66223

This support group is for Blue Valley School District parents who have a child with special needs.  All are welcome even if your child does not have an IEP.  Join us for lunch and conversation, or just conversation if you prefer not to buy lunch. Please keep in mind, these lunches are for parental support and are not designed for the promotion of personal interests.

If you have questions, please contact Joanna Rivard at joannarivard@hotmail.com and Amie Bybee at amieandkevin@sbcglobal.net.

2018-2019 Parent Support Group Lunches

  • August 24
  • September 28
  • October 19
  • November 16 - Breakfast and Holiday Boutique
  • November 30
  • December 14
  • January 25, 2019
  • February 22
  • March 29
  • April 26
  • May 17
  • June 21
  • July 19


Parent Representatives

School Parent Representative
Blue River Elementary Sarah Williams 
Cedar Hills Elementary Cindy Kavan
Cottonwood Point Elementary Kelsey Ellis
Harmony Elementary  
Heartland Elementary
Dana Hunt
Hilltop Learning Center Ashlee Shafer
Indian Valley Elementary Robin McLellan / Amy Tillery
Lakewood Elementary Heather Jenkins
Leawood Elementary
Rachel Durbin / Stephanie Hague
Liberty View Elementary  
Mission Trail Elementary Molly Johnson
Morse Elementary Amie Bybee
Oak Hill Elementary
Tara Lowrey
Overland Trail Elementary Shannon Mills
Prairie Star Elementary Jennifer Crable
Stanley Elementary
Jessica Baldwin 
Stilwell Elementary
Sunrise Point Elementary Kelli Cho-Davis
Sunset Ridge Elementary Jamie Katz
Timber Creek Elementary April Eagan
Valley Park Elementary
Jill Gonterwitz
​Wolf Springs Elementary
​Mary Ryherd
Aubry Bend Middle Katie Murrow
Blue Valley Middle Michelle Powell
Harmony Middle Cyndi Reid
Lakewood Middle Nini Williams 
Leawood Middle Melanie Gibson
Overland Trail Middle Lisa Tongier / Ericka Sheets
Oxford Middle
Kerri Biancalana / Wendy Lubbe
Pleasant Ridge Middle  Andy Kyser / Christa Minks-Brown
Prairie Star Middle Natalie Mounts
Blue Valley High Karen Briggs / Suzann Mack / Mary Sue Zimmerman
Blue Valley North
Brenda Grothen / Mary Degner / Jeff Nessel / Stephanie Blaine
Blue Valley Northwest Wendy Conaway
Blue Valley Southwest
Bettina Miller / Joanna Rivard
Blue Valley West Diane Brabston / Sanjukta Santra
ACCESS Karen Cole
Blue Valley Service Center / GEAR Lora Walker
At Large Kathy Bennett / Joanna Rivard
BVPAGE Amy Gallentine
Board of Education Members Patrick Hurley / Amy Tysseling
St. Michael's Mike Cullinan

Staff/Administration Membership

Kristin Asquith Special Education Coordinator
Donna Burchfield Occupational Therapist
Kendall Burr Hilltop Principal
Chris Cullinan Special Education Coordinator
Cassandra Delmont Assistant Director Special Education - Secondary
Laura Franken Occupational Therapist
Michelle Kelly Parents as Teachers Coordinator
Jennie Perdieu Assistant Director Special Education - Elementary
Jocelyn Rabbitt Special Education​ Consultant
Mark Schmidt Assistant Superintendent of Special Education


All meetings are on Tuesdays from 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. in the High Plains 2/3 at District Office. Guests are wel​​come. Please call (913) 239-4057 if you would like to attend.

  • September 25, 2018​​​​​
  • November 13, 2018
  • January 8, 2019
  • March 5, 2019
  • April 9, 2019​​​